Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture


After 19 years of service, Dr. Dale Perritt will step down from his administrative role as Chair of the Department of Agriculture to undertake a teaching appointment for the 2016-17 academic year. In addition to his teaching duties, Perritt also will continue the management of the department’s programs assessment.

“As an educator and leader, Dale has served the university and the Department of Agriculture with distinction for 35 years,” said Dr. Hans Williams, interim dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture. “I look forward to working with him in the upcoming academic year as he continues his service as an educator and overseeing programs assessment.”

Perritt's contributions to the field of agriculture span many years and have resulted in a number of awards including the SFA Alumni Foundation's 2009 Distinguished Professor Award and the 2010 Agriculture Educator of the Year award. Perritt also served on the national board for NARRU, Non-Land-Grant Agriculture and Renewable Resource Universities, for approximately 10 years. Additionally, he served as the superintendent of the National FFA Agricultural Mechanics Career Development Event for three years. In 2014, the Texas AgriLIfe Extension service named Perritt  “Man of the Year”. 

Dr. Joey Bray, assistant professor and director of poultry science, will assume the department’s administrative responsibilities as interim chair on September 1.