Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

DSC 0664 webFor the second consecutive year, the SFA Sylvans seized the collegiate championship title at the annual Arkansas State Lumberjack Competition held in Sheridan, Ark.

“We competed against the University of Arkansas at Monticello, Louisiana Tech and Southern Illinois University in five physical events, winning four of them and taking the overall championship with 18 points,” said Dr. Jeremy Stovall, associate professor of forestry and Sylvans faculty adviser.

For their win, the Sylvans received a $650 donation from competition organizers.

ATCOFA alumnus, past SFA Sylvans president and Arkansas State House of Representatives member Ken Bragg officiated the competition, which was organized by fellow ATCOFA alumnus Carl Hansen, among others.

Stovall said that a number of SFA alumni were present and enjoyed interacting with current SFA students. 

“The students represented our college well, and they were very professional,” he said.


Event results are as follows:

Crosscut: 1st place – Zack Ovelgonne & Brody Capps

Jack & Jill Crosscut: 1st place – Kirbee Bowman & Zack Ovelgonne

Single Buck: 1st place – Zack Ovelgonne

Underhand Chop: 1st place – Zack Ovelgonne

Axe Throw: 3rd place – Sean Hoes


Other team members in attendance included Katie Adams, John-Mike Arnett, Curtis Daugherty, Ian Erickson, Mark Gonzalez, Jared Herman, Jamie Hooker, Megan Knippers, Chris Longman, David Peterson, Rebeca Rodriguez, Rachel Sanders and Hope Shannon.