Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

HansWilliams09 rdax 250x375 mcbroom150x225

Dr. Hans Michael Williams was named dean of Stephen F. Austin State University’s Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture during the Board of Regents quarterly meeting Tuesday.

Williams joined the SFA faculty in 1993 and has served in various roles, including interim dean and associate dean of the college, as well as associate professor and professor of forestry.

“I am honored and grateful for the opportunity entrusted to me by the Board of Regents, university administration, and college faculty and staff members and students,” Williams said. “I look forward to working with our dedicated faculty and staff members as we create innovative ways to enhance the professional development of our students and serve as an important source of information for the citizens of Texas on the management of our agricultural and natural resources.”

Williams served as Regents Professor, the highest honor SFA bestows upon faculty members, from 2010-11. His achievements and awards include the Kenneth Watterson Teaching Excellence Award and Kenneth Nelson Distinguished Professorship.

Williams received his Bachelor of Science in forestry from Purdue University, Master of Science in forestry from Clemson University and doctoral degree from Auburn University. He will assume the role of dean Sept. 1.

Regents also approved Dr. Matthew McBroom as associate dean of the college. McBroom began his career at SFA as a graduate research associate in 1995. In 2016, he was promoted to professor of forest hydrology.