Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

DSC 6552copy

The Stephen F. Austin State University timbersports team, the Sylvans, won its third-consecutive collegiate title at the annual Arkansas State Lumberjack Competition held Oct. 6 and 7 at the Arkansas Timberfest in Sheridan, Arkansas.

Students competed against the University of Arkansas at Monticello, Louisiana Tech University and Southern Illinois University in five physical timbersport events.

Arkansas State Rep. Ken Bragg, SFA alumnus and former president of the SFA Sylvans, officiated the competition. Fellow SFA alumnus Carl Hansen, among others, organized the 34th annual event.

“A number of SFA alumni were on hand and enjoyed talking with the students and watching them compete,” said Dr. Jeremy Stovall, associate professor of forestry and Sylvans faculty advisor. “The students represented our university well and were very professional.”

Other SFA alumni in attendance partnered with current students to compete in the professional division of the lumberjack competition. SFA alumnae Chelsea Lopez and Kirbee Bowman placed third in the Open Double-Buck Crosscut event against two professional men’s teams. Forestry student Zack Ovelgonne and Bowman won the Jack and Jill Crosscut competition in the professional division with a time of 5.88 seconds, while current forestry student Kyle Vyers and Lopez took fifth place.

The University of Arkansas at Monticello placed second in the competition with Southern Illinois University and Louisiana Tech University placing third and fourth respectively.


Jack & Jill Crosscut – 1st place – Katie Adams and Brody Capps.

Adam and Capps’ time of 6.61 seconds on an 11-inch round sweetgum was the fastest crosscut time of the day, beating all the men’s teams as well.


Crosscut – 1st place – Brody Capps & Chris Longman.

Capps and Longman cut an 11-inch round sweetgum in 6.68 seconds, beating second-place University of Arkansas at Monticello by almost two seconds.


Single Buck – 1st place – Ian Erickson.

Erickson cut in a time of 15.36 seconds – more than 6 seconds faster than the rest of the competing schools.  His time would have placed 4th in the professional division.


Underhand Chop – 2nd place – Brody Capps.

Capps split the 11-inch sweetgum round in 2:05.72, placing second to Southern Illinois University’s time of 1:11.65.


Axe Throw – 2nd place – Ian Erickson.

Erickson scored 12 points, tying for the lead with Justin Ballard of University of Arkansas.  He then placed 2nd outright in a single-throw tiebreaker.