Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

UngerSAFwebDr. Daniel Unger, Kenneth Nelson Distinguished Professor of spatial science within Stephen F. Austin State University’s Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture, was awarded the 2019 Carl Alwin Schenck Award from the Society of American Foresters during the SAF National Convention held in November in Louisville, Kentucky.

The national award recognizes individuals who display a notable and sustained record of excellence in forestry education through outstanding service to the field and the development of dynamic, personal teaching methods.

“To be recognized by my fellow colleagues at the national level regarding my commitment to forestry education throughout my career is a humbling experience,” Unger said. “I truly enjoy interacting with the students on a daily basis.”

Unger is one of three SFA forestry professors who have earned the prestigious award. Dr. David Kulhavy, Laurence C. Walker professor of forest entomology, received the award in 2010, and Dr. Brian Oswald, Joe C. Denman Distinguished Professor of fire ecology, received the award in 2002.

“I would be surprised if there is another forestry program in the country that could ever claim to have three Schenck award winners on their active faculty,” said Dr. Hans Williams, dean of the Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture. “It’s hard to imagine a better recognition of the innovation and effectiveness of the teaching and learning provided by our faculty members.”

Carl Alwin Schenck, the award’s namesake, was a German-born and educated forester who founded the first forestry education program in the U.S. in 1898.